Nicholas Daniel OBE appointed BDRS Oboe President

credit Eric Richmond

We are pleased to announce that Nicholas Daniel OBE has been appointed to the post of Honorary Oboe President to the Society, succeeding Lady Evelyn Barbirolli and Sir Karl Jenkins. Sir Karl remains as Oboe President Emeritus.

Nicholas won the BBC Young Musician of the Year Competition in 1980 and was awarded the 2011 Queen’s Medal for Music, cited as having made “an outstanding contribution to the musical life of the nation.”

In 2016 his recording of concertos by Ralph Vaughan Williams and James MacMillan was awarded the BBC Music Magazine Premiere Award.

He was appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in the 2020 Birthday Honours for services to music. We are absolutely delighted that he has agreed to join us and are sure all our members will give him a warm welcome.